The Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU) appoints the members of the Commission for a period of up to three calendar years. A direct reappointment is possible.

The ESK should cover all technical subjects necessary for a competent advice of the BMU. The members have to provide competent and objective advice. To ensure a balanced advice, the ESK members should represent the whole range of acceptable opinions according to the state of the art in science and technology. The ESK forms committees and working groups for special technical issues.

After hearing the Commission members, the BMU appoints the chairman and his deputy.

ESK membership is a personal honorary office. ESK members are independent and not bound by directives.

Members of the ESK

Prof. Dr. Barbara Reichert Chair University of Bonn - Institute for Geosciences
Prof. Dr. Horst Geckeis Vice Chair Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Dr. Claudia Schauer Vice Chair TÜV SÜD Industrie Service GmbH Munich
Dipl.-Phys. Detlef Beltz Member TÜV NORD EnSys GmbH & Co. KG, Hannover
Dipl.-Ing. Katja Döscher Member EnBW Kernkraft GmbH, Philippsburg
Prof. Dr. Thomas Fanghänel Member European Commission, Joint Research Centre-JRC, Bruxelles
Prof. h.c. Dr. Bernd Grambow Member
Dipl.-Ing. Bernd Kaiser Member PreussenElektra GmbH, Kernkraftwerk Grafenrheinfeld
Dipl.-Ing. (BA) Beate Kallenbach-Herbert Member JEN Jülicher Entsorgungsgesellschaft für Nuklearanlagen mbH
Dr. Jörg Kaulard Member Brenk Systemplanung GmbH Aachen
Dipl.-Ing. Julia Mareike Neles Member Öko-Institut e. V.
Prof. Dr. Klaus-Jürgen Röhlig Member Technische Universität Clausthal, Clausthal-Zellerfeld
Dr. Jens Schröder Member GNS Gesellschaft für Nuklear-Service mbH, Essen
Dr. Florence-Nathalie Sentuc Member Gesellschaft für Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) gGmbH